Hurricane Season ’09

June through late September/early October is a season all of us dread, but those of us in the news business anticipate with some level of excitement.

Weird, I know. But informing the public and keeping people safe is what we try to do best every day.

This week we are reminding everyone to review their emergency plans as we enter hurricane season. Hopefully, we won’t have to break out our supply kits and generators. But its important to have them ready to go, just in case.

Brushing up on evacuation routes is also important. When I did, I learned I need to take Hwy 17 from my home on Johns Island south to I-26 towards Walterboro. I’m glad I read up on evacuation routes, because I never would have thought of Walterboro as my destination.

What am I talking about? My evacuation destination is Charlie Hall Boulevard in West Ashley: the WCSC broadcast center!

Here’s hoping none of us have to leave our homes and businesses this year!

Keep watching Live 5 News all this week for great information, common sense reminders, and later this week a great look back at Hurricane season ’89–> the year of H–o!

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

